240 2 phase setup question and how to confirm accuracy

I’m new so please bear with me on some newbie questions.

I have dual phase power (Canada). I put a CT on each main line (both black wires) no neutral. I read somewhere in the forum about balancing the mains? Is it safe to assume that both mains should have a similar watt draw on them?
Mine has a consistent difference between both when i am drawing from the grid and/or sending to the grid. Is that expected? or is there a chance i don’t have a CT properly clamped down? or is the draw different because power is split across the phases depending on where the breakers are? Like i said, I’m new to this.

Secondly, i have solar edge installed with consumption monitoring and i see a significant difference between the two. If its not due to the above assumption, what is my best way to go about confirming or validating the readings I’m seeing. Unfortunately my volt/amp meter is not the clamp style. Would my only option be to try to track one down and use it to compare?

Thanks

Not a lot of information to venture a guess. The first thing that comes to mind is that you may have 120/208 service. If you have a voltmeter, can you measure the voltage between the two black mains?

Overeasy is the best resource, but to your specific question:

“is the draw different because power is split across the phases depending on where the breakers are?”

the answer is definitely yes, if you have significant 120V loads active at the time and depending on how they happen to be distributed between the two mains. If you happened to have only 240V loads active at a given time (maybe you can force this for a quick test) you’d expect to see approximately equal power on each main leg.