Average Power Factor?

Yesterday, someone mentioned wanting to be able to look at “average power factor” for a given time period. I’ve been ruminating on that and have come to realize that I believe I’ve been handling power factor wrong from the beginning.

First a disclaimer: My background isn’t electrical engineering. I’m a programmer. That said, I understand the physics and math related to the data acquisition of electric power at what I consider to be a reasonable practical working level that can be expected to be encountered by the IoTaWatt.

So as I think about “average power factor”, over an hour where we have 360 10second measurements, the question is what are we really looking for? It’s easy to do a time average. Just add up all those 10second measurements and divide by 360.

Going through life up to the past two years, I had no idea what power factor was. I doubt that most people using an IoTaWatt do, and that it has any meaningful use to the ordinary consumer. You pay for real power, and how much reactive power gets pushed around in the process - who cares?

I think this is something that has more meaning in industrial settings, where highly reactive loads like big motors are at work. So if you have a load that draws real power of 2000 watts at a power factor of .80 for half an hour and doesn’t run for an hour, is the average power factor .40? I think .80 would be more useful.

That’s a pretty simple example to make the point. In reality, over any given measurement period, the power and pf will be constantly changing. So how to be able to produce useful averages over arbitrary time periods from a data store?

I go back to the basic definition of power factor:

pf = real power (W) / apparent power. (VA)