Double Breaker With 2 Black Wires

I haven’t been able to find anything in this forum regarding a double breaker with two black wires and how to handle them. I’ve read a lot of red/black double breaker and for those I have a CT on each wire.

Can I just use one CT around both (or one?) or the wires? There are no white neutrals coming from these breakers.

The color of the wire is a convention. I don’t believe it is mandated by code, although I’m not a licensed electrician. In general with a split-phase panel, two adjacent full size breakers are different legs of the split-phase. The question with the breaker in the top left is whether they are the two wires of a 240V circuit or two independent 120V circuits. The breaker switches are ganged, indicating they are a single 240V circuit, but the two wires are not only the same color, one appears to be a different type than the other.

In either case, it’s safe to say you can measure it with two CTs. If they do indeed go to the same 240V appliance with no neutral, which I doubt, then you can use one CT and “double”, or pass both wires through one CT with one going in the opposite direction.

I just went and looked at the labeling on the cover and they are both labeled water heater, and I only have one. I would assume that would make them 2 wires of a single 240V circuit.

Easy way to find out. Just put a ct on each, wait for water heater to work, then compare the power used on each with Graph+. If they are the same, use one with “double”.