Feed data to external database

Hi Bob , Community,
I want to find out if there is a way to get the logs into an external database ( maybe via http ). I am no coder but will hire a coder to do so if it is at all possible. I need the sensor data with its timestamps to be used in a differing platform. ( im battling to get devs for EmonCMS and InfluxDB).

I look forward to your reply.

Wayne

Hello Wayne,

The data in the logs is kept in double binary and the values stored are probably not what you want anyway. There are classes and methods in the IoTaWatt source to access the log files and to return the various metrics. In particular the IotaLog class knows how to locate and return records by timestamp, and the IotaScript class knows how to process scripts and produce the various metrics from the raw records.

You would still need a way to copy the raw datalog for external processing, and right now the only way I can see to do that is top stop the IoTaWatt and remove the SDcard to copy it on a different machine. Also, the ESP8266 stores the data in little-endian format, so if you are using a big-endian processor, the bytes need to be resequenced.

There is another alternative. The latest releases, now in ALPHA auto-update, contain a new query API. It is documented here: https://docs.iotawatt.com/en/staged/query.html

It’s accessed via HTTP and returns either Json or CSV. The limitation is that doing a large query can dim the lights and have a detrimental impact on sampling. Keeping requests to 360 rows should minimize the impact and will return an hours worth of data with 10 second grouping. It doesn’t really matter how many series you are requesting as all of the series for a particular timestamp are stored in the same datalog record.