InfluxDB/Grafana Help

Hi all. So I recently purchased an Iotawatt as a cheaper alternative to some of the more expensive tools, with similar number of inputs, that can be used in an energy audit environment for clients. I was not prepared for the complexity involved, especially since I have limited to none experience in this coding environment.

Since I will be doing energy audits on a site remote to my office I need access to the logged data for compiling a report - for this reason I understand that I need to use something like InfluxDB and Grafana as the iotawatt can only be accessed directly through a local network and not from outside?

What I am actually getting to is that, is there anyone who would be able/willing to assist in a remote setup to help me configure the device with InfluxDB and Grafana?

• I have a Rasberry Pi3B to use as host.
  • The Iotawatt is setup and I have already connected InfluxDB webservice to the Iotawatt and managed to get into the Grafana interface but no data seems to be pulling through on the created database?

Thanks in advance

You can access the IoTaWatt directly from the internet using port-forwarding to map an external port to the IoTaWatt port 80. You may need help doing this as every router does it a little differently. There are tons of tutorials on the internet and YouTube. Just search for “port forwarding”. Be sure to set a password in the IoTaWatt if you do setup internet access.

Get yourself a 4G router, connect it to the IotaWatt and configure, as Bob has mentioned, port forwarding. You then have a stand-alone monitoring solution that is not dependant on your client’s network. A TP-Link MR6400 is an example. The IotaWatt doesn’t transmit huge amounts of data so it should be reasonably cheap to implement. Use the USB on the device to provide 5V to the IotaWatt although you will still need the 9V AC reference transformer.