New IoTaWatt setup - CT's and other questions

Hi all,

I’ve been running an efergy engage hub for a few years, monitoring solar generation and grid usage (Australia). The hub has recently shat itself so it’s time for an upgrade. I’ve enclosed a pic of my single phase switch box.

A couple of questions -

I note that there is basically a choice (at least via smartguys.com.au) of either 100A or 50A CT’s - so by my understanding I’d only need one 100A (for the main switch which is rated 63A) and the rest 50A CT’s ?

Next question, can I use one CT to measure both the airconditioner circuits (FAMILY/BED) - by putting both wires through the CT ? Total ratings for both circuits is 36A ?

So I’d need

1 x 100A
6 x 50A (wall oven, power, light, solar, aircond1/2, hotplates)

Any help, corrections or input gratefully accepted !

Pete M

Yes, that should all work.

1 Like

Thanks for that overeasy, much appreciated.

One other question, does the system integrate with any smart plugs? My circuit (apart from air conditioners / oven) doesn’t differentiate appliances such as dryers, washing machines etc, I’d be interested in integrating with smart plugs on some of the bigger appliances. I know I could use shelly devices for power monitoring, but unsure if any of those type devices integrate to keep the data in one place ?

Thanks,
Pete

IoTaWatt doesn’t accept data from other devices, but you can upload to a common database like influxDB or Emoncms. Both are open and have both OSD and cloud versions.

Dryers are usually on a dedicated circuit and washing machines usually don’t use enough energy to worry about.

Thanks again for your answer. I forgot about uploading to a common database, that won’t be a problem. I’ve never seen a dryer on it’s own circuit here in Oz…

Thanks again.

Pete

OK, so Iotawatt arrived Wednesday (thanks SmartGuys Australia, fantastic service)