SCT-013-000 100A not accurate enough?

Hi

I only seem to be able to get the 100A CTs here in Australia at the moment. I’m concerned that they won’t be accurate enough for my branch circuits (10A, 16A, 32A)…? Also, my 3 phase mains are 63A. This is all 230V.

Any advice muchly appreciated :slight_smile:

Edit: is there anywhere I can buy different CTs (like the 50A and 100A ones recommended in the Docs)? Reading these forums, it seems like the SCT-013-000’s aren’t recommended for anything but the main power inputs? I’ve tried several messages to the smartguys here in Australia but I never get a response.

I am surprised you have not received a response so will give it a go. However I am a beginner with energy monitoring so take that into account.

I have 4 of the SCT-013-000 devices and am quite satisfied with accuracy. What accuracy are you looking for?

Are you aware of the prolific number of clones on the market, labelled YHDQ instead of YHDC?
YHDQ SCT-013 clones

Thanks so much for your reply!

I was just wanting to confirm, before buying 10 of the SCT’s, that they were accurate enough for my lower Amp circuits (10A, 16A, 32A). I’m fairly certain they are fine for my main inputs (63A). The iotawatt docs say the SCT’s are ok as CTs but I’m not sure how accurate they are for the lower amp branch circuits. I can’t put any sort of accuracy number on this (I’m a complete beginner) but the fact that you’re using 4 of these (I assume some are on lower amp circuits?) is encouraging.

Yes, I read about the dodgy ‘Q’ clones. The vendor here in fact is selling that type also, but has warned people against them. The ones I want to buy from him are the correct ‘C’ type, so thanks for checking that.

I had considered getting some of the 50A CTs from other vendors recommended here, but I can’t seem to find a vendor for those who ships to Australia.