Taking action based on observation

(Newbie here. Hi, everybody! Just ordered, not installed or even received yet. Trying to think ahead.)

I have several large power consumers in the house, and I would like to turn those off when power consumption in the house gets “too high”. In other words, if somebody decides it’s a good idea to cook a 12-course meal, while doing all the laundry, ironing clothes and drying their hair, they don’t get to have air conditioning at the same time. I’m trying to figure out how to best do this.

Q1: Has anybody done such a thing: taking real-time action based on IoToWatt measurements? If so, any pointers? (All the use cases I can see are non-real-time ones)

It appears there might not be enough memory on the chip to run a non-trivial algorithm for how to decide when to start turning things off. So the algorithm would have to run on some other device, say a Raspberry Pi. The obvious idea would be to have the IoTaWatt post its data to that device, and the HTTP (?) handler behind it would then send off the data to both the visualization tool (e.g. emoncms) and to the algorithm, which would then switch that device’s GPIO pins in a suitable fashion to turn off AC. However, that would need to do real-time communications over WiFi, and that sounds like a suboptimal idea :slight_smile:

Q2: Has anybody taken the data off the chip in real time using something else than WiFi? E.g. serial? If so, any pointers?

Q3: If not, it seems possible (again, I have not played with the system so I may be totally wrong) to add a few lines of code to the firmware that writes out to serial 28 bytes or so on each cycle (14x2bytes), which would be ready by the device running the algorithm. Does this idea pass the smell test?

All thoughts and pointers very much appreciated!

Thanks,

Johannes.

2 Likes

Hi Johannes,