Big Changes to ESP32 effort

Over the summer, what with the rainy New England weather this year, I spent quite a bit of time on the ESP82 prototype. Those that follow this blog know that I’ve been teasing an ESP32 version for a couple of years now, and although I have had a pretty good working prototype for about that long, several developments caused me to question major parts of it.

It all started when I could no longer get the AC reference transformers that I’ve been selling for a couple of years. That, coupled with all the ZMPT101B craze in the IOT world, and a little inspiration from recently release OEM power supply that uses it, got me to evaluating the feasibility of integrating one or three of them directly into the IoTaWatt PCB.

Unfortunately, I could not get the thing to work as accurately as I would like across a wide voltage spectrum (100V-277V). While the ratio of input current to output current is fairly steady, my experience is that the power consumed by the sample resister shown up as additional source current, and so the calibration is not a simple gain+offset calculation. Moreover, I found unacceptable variance between the ten samples that I got.

After spending quite a lot of time on redesigning the sampler to use three onboard voltage sensors, I could not revert to a simpler design. So, I started to look for something better. I believe I found it.

Texas Instruments has a new chip, the AMC131M03. This chip provides reinforced isolation of the analog side and sports three 24 bit Sigma-Delta ADCs. Moreover, it will sample all three voltages simultaneously and continuously. The chip is a variation of the ADS131Mnn family of 24 bit Sigma-Delta ADC chips that can have up to 8 simultaneous differential inputs.