USA - looking at this as alternative to Sense

I have a 2800 sq ft 2 story house, 40-switch breaker box presently with 31 occupied, looking into adding at least two more due to regular overloads / breaker flips needed in a specific bedroom and the garage. No solar but that may be in eventual future - honestly more interested in power storage first since we live in a hurricane zone. I am a complete novice with electricity and engineering in general, but would like to learn more. My tech skills are more on the SQL / database side (largely self-taught / Googled) although I am actually pursuing an associate degree in IT on part-time basis - concepts of gits and APIs still very new to me!

Sooo…what all do I need to buy to get started here? Am a bit overwhelmed at the moment. If someone could hook me up with a shopping list / quick orientation so I can hit the ground running with the wiki page, I sure would appreciate it…! Or am I out of my depth with no electrical knowledge / limited programming skills and should just consider going the Sense route?

Oh, and credit to Amazon user “Jonathan Frederick” for his review on the Sense page there that led me here!

This is a common inquiry, and all the answers are the same but different. IoTaWatt is very versatile and can accurately measure individual appliances immediately. That said, you need to know what you want to measure and install passive sensors for each of those circuits.

There is complete documentation here. It reads pretty quickly. I’m guessing you are in North America, so take a look at the split-phase power discussion to understand better what is inside your load-center. Then run through the first few installation instructions to see what’s involved.

Here are several other recent threads where folks asked the same question:

https://community.iotawatt.com/t/equipment-needed-for-200a-residential-us-installation/1975

https://community.iotawatt.com/t/equipment-recommendations-for-us-residential-200a/1998/10