120V/240V split phase voltage reference

I’ve been monitoring my US split-phase service for two years now using a single 120V reference on one “leg” of the service. The results have been excellent, with overall and individual results within 1% of the utility meter and several revenue grade EKM meters on individual circuits. I long ago became comfortable with the notion of the single 120V reference, even though that voltage typically varies between 119V and 121V throughout the day with excursions even further off the mean from time to time.

I’ve measured the other leg, but that didn’t really provide enough data to satisfy my curiosity about the practical effects of some of the conventional wisdom that I’ve read about this. One of the warnings that I hear often is that when a transformer is shared with neighbors, their activity can adversely effect your voltage balance. I share a transformer with 5 other households, so I’m interested in how much stock to place in these warnings.

The US power system as delivered to residences, is not all that different from Europe and the UK. It is basically a 240V single-phase system, albeit with a center tap on the transformer for 120V circuits. We all think of it as a 120V system, because that’s what our light duty appliances and lighting use, and that’s what the wall plugs typically supply, but in reality, homes that use a lot of power typically use most of that power running 240V appliances like water heaters, pumps, clothes dryers, ovens, ranges, and air conditioners.

When those big loads run, they cause the overall voltage to drop at the load-center because of the resistance in the service entrance cables and somewhat because of the internal resistance of the transformer. The portion of the voltage drop caused by the resistance of your service entrance cable:

• Effect only your home.
  • Effects both legs equally.

Whatever voltage drop is due to internal resistance of the transformer: